Private Pilot Certification – Unit 2

I woke up very excited today, I like having something to look forward to like this. The first thing I did when I woke up was to run through the images for what I had memorized yesterday. I had created a series of support images to hold the information in the same order as it is in my study guide. To review, all I needed to do was make sure I could still see in my mind the images that were connected to these supports. Even in my groggy state, this only took a minute, and everything was where it was supposed to be.

Now, in GMS there are two different levels of memorization. Most is memorized to a normal level… after 4 days of review like this morning, I’ll have it fixed for a minimum of 6 weeks. I say minimum because there was something I memorized, and 6 months later, without reviewing it once, I still knew it. However, after 6 weeks, some of the visual connections will start to weaken and fade, so it’s just a safe number to work with.

Anything I want to keep for a lifetime, however, I can memorize to a reflex level. This would take 3 or 4 reviews every day for 3 or 4 days. Once something is memorized to a reflex level, I won’t have to review it anymore to keep it in my memory.

Unit 2 – Instruments, engines, and systems
2.1 – Compass Turn Error
2.1.1 – Magnetic compass’s are accurate only during constant, straight and level flight.
2.1.2 – A magnetic compass in an airplane will deviate from one on the ground.
2.1.3 – On an east-west heading, the compass will point too far north while accelerating, and too far south while decelerating.
2.1.4 – A compass will lag behind the turn when turning from north, and lead the turn when turning from south.
2.1.5 – These errors diminish when the turns/acceleration is completed.

2.2 – Pitot Static System
2.2.1 – The Pitot Static System provides pressure for the altimeter, vertical speed indicator, and the airspeed indicator.
2.2.2 – The Pitot Tube provides ram pressure for the airspeed indicator only.
2.2.3 – If the pitot tube becomes clogged, the airspeed indicator will not function properly. If the static vents become clogged, neither the altimeter, vertical speed indicator, nor airspeed indicators will function properly.

2.3 – Airspeed Indicator
2.3.1 – Color coding for the airspeed indicator.
2.3.1a – White: Full flaps operating range.
2.3.1b – Green: Normal operating range.
2.3.1c – Yellow: Operating range in smooth air only.
2.3.1d – Red: Maximum speed in any condition.
2.3.2 – There is also a maximum maneuvering speed, the maximum speed at which full controls deflection can occur without structural damage. This speed is not marked.(I wonder why? Seems like an important thing to know!)

2.4 – Altimeter
2.4.1 – Altimeters have three hands.
2.4.1a – Long hand = 100 ft.
2.4.1b – Medium hand = 1,000 ft.
2.4.1c – Short hand = 10,000 ft.
2.4.2 – Altimeter numbers show from 0-9.

2.5 – Types of Altitude
2.5.1 – Absolute Altitude is the altitude above the ground surface.
2.5.2 – True Altitude is the altitude above the mean sea level.
2.5.3 – Density Altitude is the pressure altitude adjusted for non-standard temperatures.
2.5.4 – Pressure Altitude is the altitude above the standard plane of 29.92in. mercury.
2.5.5 – Pressure Altitude and Density Altitude are the same at standard temperature.
2.5.6 – Indicated Altitude and True Altitude are the same under standard conditions.
2.5.7 – Pressure Altitude and True Altitude are the same under standard conditions(29.92 in. mercury, 15 degrees C )

2.6 – Setting the Altimeter
2.7 – Altimeter Errors
2.8 – Gyroscopic Systems
2.9 – Engine Temperature
2.10 – Constant Speed Propeller
2.11 – Engine Ignition System
2.12 – Carburator Icing
2.13 – Carburator Heat
2.14 – Fuel/Air Mixture
2.15 – Abnormal Combustion
2.16 – Airplane Fuel Practices
2.17 – Starting the Engine
2.18 – Electrical System

I spent another hour on this today. First I read through the headings of the unit, and memorized them. Those are the 18 sub-units listed. Once I finished with that, I started reading each sub-unit and filling in the points.

Leave a Reply

